2020-21 Electives

  • We offer Physical Education, Band, Music and Art as part of our elective opportunities. All students will also have access to the Library on a regular basis. The frequency of each class is different for fifth and sixth grade, so please review the information below based on the grade level for your student.   

    If you have questions about how to select your elective, please don’t hesitate to contact Grant Finney (Student last names A-L) at gfinney@ohsd.net or (360) 279-5312 or Chandra Mays (Student last names M-Z) at cmays@ohsd.net or (360) 279-5311. 

    If you have specific questions about an individual elective program, please contact the appropriate staff members below.

    Library- Alice Mikos- amikos@ohsd.net
    Band- Andrew Judd- ajudd@ohsd.net
    Physical Education- Ranee Bristow - rbristow@ohsd.net or Justin Ronning - jronning@ohsd.net
    Art- Matt Ackerman- mackerman@ohsd.net
    Music and More- Renee Hall- rhall@ohsd.net

    5th Grade Electives

    5th Grade Beginning Band:  This class offers an opportunity for any 5th-grade student to pursue an interest in learning to play an instrument.  Students will be required to practice a minimum of 100 minutes per week.   Depending on the instrument, purchase costs vary from $150-$500 used or $500-$1500 new.  Rental costs, again depending on the instrument, vary from $10-$45 per month with the first month’s rental and an additional one-month deposit paid in advance.  Rental costs can be applied toward the purchase of the instrument. Evening performances are an important part of this class.  In addition to a financial commitment, consideration should be given to the time and practice commitment required by band students at home.  It is important to know that enrolling in beginning band is available only during the 1st quarter of the 5th grade.  

    5
    th Grade “Music and More”:  If you like to sing, play percussion and string instruments, perform, learn about musicians, the history and culture around the world, and create your own music too, then this is the class for you.  Come join the fun and experience "Music and More" with Mrs. Hall. 

    5th Grade Art:  This class introduces students to a variety of techniques, mediums, different cultures, and art history.  Students will be creating individual art projects through the process of creating and reflecting.


    6th Grade Electives

    6th Grade Beginning Band (0 Period Class): This class offers an opportunity for any 6th grade student to pursue an interest in learning to play an instrument that did not take (or have) the opportunity in 5th grade. The class will meet every day before school (from 7:45 - 8:25) and there will be district transportation available. Students will be expected to practice a minimum of 100 minutes per week. Depending on the instrument, purchase costs vary from $150-$500 used or $500-$1500 new. Rental costs, again depending on the instrument, vary from $15-$35 per month with the first month’s rental and an additional one-month deposit paid in advance. Rental costs can be applied toward the purchase of the instrument. In addition to a financial commitment, consideration should be given to the time and practice commitment required by band students at home. Evening performances are an important part of this class.

    6th Grade Intermediate Band: This class is a yearlong performance class, and will meet every day. It is open to all students who took band in 5th grade. While fundamentals and playing skills are still addressed with method books and the like, performance is the emphasis of this class. The function of the 6th Grade Intermediate Band is to study and perform the finest band literature that is appropriate to this level. Evening performances are an important part of this class.

    6th Grade “Music and More”: If you like to sing, play percussion and string instruments, perform, learn about musicians, the history and culture around the world, and create your own music too, then this is the class for you.  Come join the fun and experience "Music and More" with Mrs. Hall.  

    6th Grade Art:  This class introduces students to a variety of techniques, mediums, different cultures, and art history.  Students will be focusing on the foundations of art, drawing with a variety of tools, creating 2D works of art with an emphasis on making them look 3D.  Students will be creating individual art projects through the process of creating, presenting, responding, and connecting.